Press Releases & Media Relations

2019 Memorial Day Schedule

MemPUDue to the Memorial Day Holiday,

NO household garbage will be picked up on

Monday, May 27th, 2019.

The entire City of Osceola will have all household garbage picked up on

Tuesday, May 28th, 2019.

Then returning to the normal schedule on

Thursday, May 30th, 2019.


Steve Choals, Superintendent
Osceola Dept. of Streets & Sanitation



Strong Southern Communities Initiative

05.13.2019  |  For immediate release

At the invitation of the Arkansas Municipal League's Whitnee Bullerwell and the National League of Cities, Osceola Mayor, Sally Wilson attended the Strong Southern Communities Initiative network seminar at the ARML's headquarters on May 2nd and 3rd along with 14 other Arkansas mayors and council members. 

What is the Strong Southern Communities Initiative (SSCI)?

SSCI is designed to provide practical help and advice to municipal leaders in Mississippi, Arkansas and Louisiana. It brings together local elected officials from across the region who want to improve outcomes for children and families, enabling them to share ideas and discuss the challenges facing their communities.

Additionally, SSCI helps participating mayors and city councilmembers develop local action plans based on their unique circumstances and needs, and then connects city leaders to national experts and regional partners who can help them implement those plans.

What are the benefits?

By joining the SSCI, local elected office will become part of a peer learning network within the region that helps them improve the lives of children and famSSCIilies in their communities.

What are the expectations?

As part of their commitment to join SSCI, city leaders will identify a specific “result” in their community that they seek to improve. YEF Institute staff will then help local elected officials assess their existing barriers, opportunities and assets, and through that process support their efforts to develop a local action plan.

Pictured are those attending: Batesville Mayor Rick Elumbaugh, Bay Mayor Darrell Kirby, Bryant Mayor Allen Scott, Dermott Mayor Walter Donald, Fairfield Bay Mayor Paul Wellenberger, Jonesboro Mayor Harold Perrin, Lake Village Mayor Joe Dan Yee, Lake Village Alderman Sam Angel II, Lake Village Alderman Sharron Walker,  North Little Rock Mayor Joe Smith, Pea Ridge Mayor Jackie Crabtree, Pine Bluff Mayor Shirley Washington, Smackover Mayor Bobby Neal, and Stephens Mayor Harry Brown.